Odin's Game (The Whale Road Chronicles #1) (Paperback)

Odin's Game (The Whale Road Chronicles #1) Cover Image
$15.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Whale Road Chronicles series.

Description


'FAST-PACED, DETAILED AND BRILLIANTLY WRITTEN [FOR] FANS OF BERNARD CORNWELL, GEORGE R.R. MARTIN AND THEODORE BRUN' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY.

Not everyone will survive, but who will conquer all in Odin's game?

AD 915.

In the Orkney Isles, a young woman flees her home to save the life of her unborn child. Eighteen years later, a witch foretells that evil from her past is reaching out again to threaten her son.

Outlawed from his home in Iceland, Einar Unnsson is thrown on the mercy of his Uncle, the infamous Jarl Thorfinn 'Skull Cleaver' of Orkney. He joins forces with a Norse-Irish princess and a company of wolfskin-clad warriors to become a player in a deadly game for control of the Irish sea, where warriors are the pawns of kings and Jarls and the powerful are themselves mere game pieces on the tafl board of the Gods.

Together they embark on a quest where Einar must fight unimaginable foes, forge new friendships, and discover what it truly means to be a warrior. As the clouds of war gather, betrayal follows betrayal and Einar realises the only person he can really trust is himself.

Praise for Tim Hodkinson:

'An excellently written page-turner, with a feel for the period which invites you into the era and keeps you there' Historical Writers Association.

'A gripping action adventure like the sagas of old; and once finished, you just want to go back and read it all over again' Melisende's Library.

About the Author


Tim Hodkinson grew up in Northern Ireland where the rugged coast and call of the Atlantic ocean led to a lifelong fascination with vikings and a degree in Medieval English and Old Norse Literature. Apart from Old Norse sagas, Tim's more recent writing heroes include Ben Kane, Giles Kristian, Bernard Cornwell, George R.R. Martin and Lee Child. After several years living in New Hampshire, Tim has returned to Northern Ireland, where he lives with his wife and children.

Praise For…


"This is a fast-paced, detailed and brilliantly written historical adventure which will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell, George R R Martin, and especially Theodore Brun." Historical Novel Society


 



'Full of excellent action passages, great supporting characters and exciting twists' Grimdark Magazine



Product Details
ISBN: 9781801107426
ISBN-10: 1801107424
Publisher: Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Publication Date: January 1st, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: The Whale Road Chronicles